What I Read in January

what-i-read
Happy Wednesday Friends!

Have I shared with you how much I love to read? I have a whole drawer of my nightstand dedicated towards storing books that I would like to read in the future while also having a stack on ones I am currently reading on my nightstand. I usually have 3 or 4 books started at once. I usually find more time to read in the Winter, but I also like to end my day reading before I fall asleep each night.

Every month since September I along with a friend have hosted a monthly “Blind Date” Book Club as a way to connect with other woman and to receive a nice selection of books to read. I will share what a Blind Date Book Club is in a later post, but I have really enjoyed hosting this type of book club.

I took a little time the last couple months to catch up on a few of my book club selections and thought it would be fun to share what I read the last month.

img_20170101_130831870The Promise of Stardust- Priscille Sibley

Book Description (Amazon): 

Priscille Sibley’s The Promise of Stardust is a haunting and unforgettable debut novel about life and death and love, set against a moral dilemma that may leave you questioning your own beliefs.

Matt Beaulieu has loved Elle McClure since he was two years old. Now married and expecting their first child, Elle suffers a fatal accident. To keep the baby alive, Matt goes against his wife’s wishes and keeps his wife on life support. But Matt’s mother thinks that Elle should be euthanized, and she’s ready to fight for what she believes is the right thing.

A stunning, compassionate examination of one of the most intricate ethical issues of our time, The Promise of Stardust, will stay with you, long after the last page has been read.

My Recommendation:

I really enjoyed this book and read through it quite fast. I enjoyed how the author would switch from the present to the past to share the back story of the couple’s relationship.   I would recommend reading this book.

img_20161230_132931475

Me Before You-Jojo Moyes

Book Description (Amazon): 

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

My Recommendation:

I again enjoyed this book and read through it quite fast. I especially  enjoyed the main character of Louisa Clark. After completing the book I immediately went and got the movie to watch…which I do not recommend doing at all. Usually I am a fan of this type of movie genre, but in this case I think just having read the book ruined the movie for me. I am sure if I had watched the movie well after reading the book I may have enjoyed it a little, but in this case it fell flat for me.

What are you currently reading?

Thank you for stopping by!

 I am sharing this post at…

DIY Show OffA Stroll Thru Life – Home Stories A to Z – Savvy Southern Style

Colors and Craft – Tatertots & Jello – Pierced Pastimes – Practically Functional

Nifty Thrifty ThingsFinding Silver Pennies – The Crafted Sparrow – Snap Creativity

Ginger Snap Crafts –Seeking Lavender Lane  – Skip to My Lou – Homework

Making It In The Mountains – Joy In Our Home – Live Laugh Rowe – A Fresh Squeezed Life

Worthing Court – Design Dining Diapers – White House Crafts – Kingsbury Brook Farm

Redo It Yourself Inspirations – Small Home Soul – The SITS Girls – VMG206

One More Time – Denise DesignedThe Crafting Nook – Little Farmstead

Rustic Refined

Affiliate Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a commission if you make a purchase using the links provided in this post. I also only share information on specific products or services that I currently use and love. All opinions on these products or services are my own and are not influenced by anything other than my own use.

 

5 thoughts on “What I Read in January

  1. Love some of your suggestions. Thank you. I’m currently reading “Juliet’s Answer.” You may enjoy #bookloverpostcardswap where we send a postcard with a book recommendation. Visiting you via SITSSharefest

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s